What is the role of constructive criticism in the work place?

The role of constructive criticism in the workplace is to make sure everyone understand the responsibility of their jobs and positions. Constructive criticism is to be used to inform an employee on things that could be done differently to make quotas or to complete a task. It shouldn’t be used to make an employee feel incompetent.

When is a time you had to either provide or receive constructive criticism? What was the situation? What was the outcome? What would you do differently?

I had received constructive criticism when I had my first audit for student files and attendance records with Genesee Intermediate School District. I thought it was the worst day of my life, and I had never done an audit before. When I sat down to discuss what I needed to do in order to receive good comments I found the auditors to use discretion when they commented on recommendations to improve on yearly audits.

The first thing I wanted to know was the expectation of what’s needed from me on behalf of the school. I had to get a clear understanding of what they will be looking for in order to master one of my stipulations as Business Manager. Of course, they gave me a deadline date to have the information that was needed to close out the final audit report and it made me aware of my requirements for future audits with them.

I would not change anything because, it was a learning experience for me and to become good in my field you have to start somewhere even if you flop for the first time. I appreciate the constructive criticism they gave and I appreciate the diplomacy they used to help me understand what they were looking for in future audits. I did get it right with time and my audits became perfect, the goal I had set for myself was accomplished.

